Teaching children to be giving at Christmas

I am always trying to find ways to bring more Christ into Christmas. Don’t get me wrong, I love the lights, presents, and food. But when all that is said and done, I want my children to know it really is about Jesus. In a culture of Santa and the focus being on trying to get stuff it can be hard to find a way to teach this to children. Especially little children, since you can’t volunteer at soup kitchens and other things like that. Which is why I love Operation Christmas Child shoe boxes! It’s easy and you can involve younger children! We budget all year for Christmas which includes money for shoe boxes, but we had a difficult summer (both vehicles breaking down in the same week among other things) and ended up using Christmas money for other things. I was terribly disappointed that we weren’t going to do shoe boxes this year. How ever a miracle happened! Just before Thanksgiving we were given an envelop with $200 from someone in our church. We don’t know why or who it was. I know that they probably won’t read this message, but thank you from the bottom of our hearts! I instantly hopped on Operation Christmas child’s website to see if we were too late. We weren’t, we had a few days before pick up day! A few days later during donut time at church a lady walked up to me and said, “I love watching you and your children. I am sure there are things you need. I hope you will let me give this to you.” At home when I opened the card, there was $100! That night I sat my boys down (4 years and 2 1/2 years) and told them we were going to go to the store and buy things for other children. I had them watch a little video on Operation Christmas Child’s website that explains where the shoe boxes go. I think James understood. He told me, “I’m a little bit sad.” 😉 I told him that giving isn’t sad, but happy. We will be making a little boy’s Christmas so happy. And off to Kmart we went.

We got three plastic boxes and told James and Gideon to pick out things to put inside. James picking out some stickers for his box:

IMG_3625

and toothbrushes/tooth paste

IMG_3627

They got a little bit distracted by the Christmas tree décor. I can’t imagine why.

IMG_3624

James adding something to his box.

IMG_3626

Believe me I was tempted not to take a 4 year old, 2 1/2 year old and a 11 month old Christmas shopping for someone else. I could have done it faster. Much faster. But that isn’t the point. The point was to teach my boys about giving. Giving a really fun box away to a little boy that wouldn’t have a Christmas otherwise. I pray all the time that my children will grow up to have a giving heart. Hopefully through things like this they will learn to give, and to do it happily. 🙂

 I have to say I am very proud of my boys! They happily filled most of the box for their child then Titus and I finished it for them while they played in the toy aisle. Because of the generosity of our church people we were able to make 3 boxes this year. The most we have ever done!

IMG_3628

I told Titus when we got married that I would like to do one for each child we have that year at Christmas. So as we have more children we would do more boxes. Sadly this has not happened every year. But this year we were able to give 3 boxes, 2 for boys and one for a girl representing our three children.

IMG_3633

Shoe boxes are about $50 to fill. I told Titus if we end up with 10 children we will have to budget $500 just for shoe boxes every year! ha ha ha WOW!!!

7 responses to “Teaching children to be giving at Christmas

  1. That’s such a great thing that you are teaching your children to “give” at such an early age, we give each of our children money and we find families in need and leave the money in an envelope at their front door. We let our kids ring the doorbell and run away so it is truly anonymous ! They LOVE it… I think that it is also important to teach my children that gifts at Christmas time are just purely that — a gift. It is something that is not earned, deserved, or warranted, just like salvation! Also, I have a hard time ready your blog because of the background! The Daisies make the txt hard to read because it is so busy.

    • Thank you so much for reading! That is a great idea to leave money at people’s doors. I have wondered about the daisies being hard to read over. Thanks for letting me know. 🙂

  2. Haha we typically do a box per child, depending on the ages. I’m glad you clarified that you were picking out toothbrushes and not what’s shown in the picture. Lol

  3. Lol, Sirena!! Chantal, this is a wonderful story!!!

  4. I will have to do this next year with our kiddos

    • Totally Jenni! Jasmine will be old enough to at least pick out things for a box. Gideon did alright. James really understood though, so to get through to them they need to be a bit older.

Leave a Reply

