Faith Natalie’s Birth Story

Pretty sure I have to write this post in pink, in honor of my beautiful daughter. 🙂  We have finally decided on a name.  I know it has taken us a really long time.  I have found out that Titus and I have very different tastes in girl names.  It might be a good idea to know a head of time if we are having a girl next time around.  With that said, we have gone through lists of names, books of names, and websites of names.  I had several names written out, most of them complete with a middle name as well. Titus didn’t like any of them.  Titus’ two favorite names I wasn’t crazy about, so we had to keep looking.  One name that was thought of but turned down was Cutie Patootie Penner.  We decided she would out grow this name pretty fast and then hate us for the rest of her life. 🙂  So we have come to Faith Natalie Penner.  And it’s just perfect for her! I’m so glad we took our time and waited until we found a name that we both like.

IMG_1717

So I started having contractions around 8 in the evening on the 9th. I did notice them because I was really uncomfortable on the floor playing with Gideon. But I didn’t think much of them because I’d had similar contractions for weeks and had gotten kinda used to them.  I went to bed around 10 or 11 and slept until maybe 3:00 a.m.  I’m surprised I was able to sleep since I’ve never slept through pre-labor before.  I got up because I was hungry, and decided to time them and see what’s up.  I called Maren around 4 or 4:30 and told her I was pretty sure I was in labor.  My sisters were getting up by then to leave for MN.  I cuddled with Gideon for a bit and then they left.  I did some cleaning, and watched some netflix, and I think I read a book or something. By 6:30 I was feeling tired and the contractions had  slowed down a bit so I decided to try to sleep.  I have never been able to take naps in pre-labor before, but I did this time.  At 7:30 I talked to Maren again and she decided to come and set everything up.  So I woke up Titus and the two of them moved some stuff around in the livingroom to make room for the birth tub.  Maren hung around for a while, but things were pretty slow and I was thinking about another nap so she said she’d stay close by and do some Christmas shopping.  Titus was already back in bed (he had stayed up late working on home work).  At noon I woke Titus up and had him call Maren.  The contractions were still far apart, but when I had them they were really really strong.  So she came back and they started filling the tub.  I was sitting on the ball, which I’ve done for all my other labors, but it seemed the contractions would slow when I sat on it.  If I was up walking around then they got stronger.  My back was really starting to hurt at this point, really all my muscles, so I decided to sit in the tub. Oh. my. goodness!!  If you have not labored in a tub do it next time! If your doctor won’t let you then find another doctor!!  I literally sat in the tub and all the pain went away. I still had pain with each contraction, but in between I was completely pain-free.  So I sat there for about 3 hours, and Titus sat on the ball next to me.  I’d squeeze his hand through each contraction, but other wise he just sat next to me.  Normally he’s rubbing my back, or squeezing my hips or helping me stand or sit or what ever.  I think he liked the tub as much as I did. 😉  (And as a side note, after my other births my muscles hurt so much. All of them, my back, legs, neck, shoulders.  But this time I have had no sore muscles at all! none! I think it was sitting in the hot water for all of my active labor) Around 3 I kinda got tired of the tub.  It’s a big tub and I had to prop myself up with my feet and my legs were getting tired.  I tried different ways to sit but it wasn’t feeling very good anymore.  The only negative about the tub is if you want to get suddenly you weigh a whole lot more than you do floating in the water.  I kept saying I didn’t think I could get out because my body felt sooooo heavy!  I did not, however, die in the tub, and I did some how get out.  I sat on the toilet and felt a small urge to push.  So everyone was asking me if I wanted to get back in the tub or if I wanted to lie on the bed.  All I said was I wanted to lie down some where soft….so it was to the bed I went.  It felt so good to lie down.  But goodness those contractions are mean!!  No rest!  And if my blasted water would just break earlier then I think I would have an easier time pushing.  I did push for a few pushes with the water intact and there was so.much.pressure!!  The same thing happened with Gideon and I remember the same problem.  When my water broke I felt so much release and so much of the pain went away!  But not for long, one more huge, long push and my baby was next to me!  I don’t remember feeling so emotional or so much relief after my other births.  I didn’t care if it was a girl or a boy, I was so happy to just hold the baby.  I kept telling Titus, it’s all over, it’s all over! 

Right after the birth. We don’t know if it’s a girl or boy yet I don’t think.

IMG_1698

The midwife really encouraged me to see if it was a girl or boy though, and low and be hold it was a girl.  I really think I was expecting another boy!  The midwives were in no hurry, they even left the bedroom for a while and it was just Titus me and the baby.  After awhile (maybe an hour??) Maren came in and had Titus cut the cord, then both baby and I took a herb bath in the birth tub.

IMG_1703

I have never seen a baby relax so fast in a tub before.  It was really really neat to see her totally calm in the warm water.  She cried when we took her out. 🙂

First bath:

IMG_1705

Time has kind of just stopped for us.  We have had no one come see us, and because James and Gideon are still in MN we don’t have anything to do but tell each other how cute Faith is, and how small she is!  I try my best to stay in bed for the first three days after having a baby.  So we’ve just been camping out in my bedroom:

IMG_1718

IMG_1721

The midwives said they do not think Faith is late.  She doesn’t look late at all (late babies have very dry skin and a lack of vernex.  She doesn’t have either), and when they examined the placenta they said it looks like a 40 week placenta, not a 42 week.  So I guess Faith knew exactly when she should be born!  I was expecting a huge baby because of going so late.  She is a small 7 pounds 5 ounces, the smallest baby I’ve had!  She is just beautiful!

Faith Natalie Penner

Born December 10th, 2013 at 3:40 p.m.

IMG_1729

We give thanks to God for another beautiful healthy baby.  We are so blessed, and so thankful!

24 responses to “Faith Natalie’s Birth Story

  1. Awww! We share a name! I can’t wait to see her and snuggle her within an inch of her life, :).

  2. I love it!

  3. Beautiful name, beautiful story, beautiful baby girl! It was fun reading this.

  4. I love the name.!!

  5. so very happy for you!

  6. love the name!

  7. Charissa MacInnis

    wonderful wonderful! birth stories are so special

  8. Love it!!!!

  9. Love it!!!!

  10. I love her name!! And your birth story! beautiful!!

  11. Cute name! I always love reading/hearing birth stories! Thanks for sharing! I totally feel the same way about the tub! It takes soo much pressure and pain off! Enjoy that new sweetie!!

  12. Beautiful name! Love it!

  13. It’s perfect!

  14. Love it & her name! Did they change your due date since in your announcement picture you said due date was Dec 10. Her birthdate! Beautiful baby, even smaller than Zoella. She was 7lb 11oz.

  15. She is beautiful!

  16. loved reading your story!! Congrats, again!!

  17. Happy baby!!! So jealous right now! (j/k….mostly)

  18. Beautiful name Chantal! Congrats again! I know you miss your boys, but what a blessing for you three to bond, and for you to get rest!

  19. I already adore her! She is so cute….

  20. And her face looked so relaxed and eyes open in the early picture. So glad you had a lay midwife!

  21. Pingback: My 100th post: How blogging has changed my life | Blissful in being called Wife and Mommy

  22. Pingback: Selah Rose birth story | Blissful in being called Wife and Mommy

  23. Pingback: Selah’s Birth Story – deep in bear country

Leave a Reply

