The birth story

Gideon Jonathan Penner: born April 4, 2012 (on his grandpa Jonathan’s b-day) at 10:47 a.m. 9 pounds 4 ounces 22″ long

I used to be one of those girls that just rolled her eyes when birth stories came up.  I’d give my mom about 5 -10 minutes before her or the person she was talking to starting talking about one of their kid’s birth stories.  I just didn’t get it.  I know how all my cousins, friends, and their friends came into this world.  But after having just one child and now a second I totally get it.  It’s the most amazing accomplishment a woman can do in her life.  Women who have given birth know this and love to talk about it.  I think it’s an even deeper feeling for moms that give birth naturally without any pain meds.  I found this out after I had James.  I have a huge sense of pride in myself and my body to be able to create something so amazing and so beautiful.  A woman’s body is incredible!

A week ago today we welcomed into this world a second son, Gideon.  Last Tuesday in the afternoon I started having very strong braxton hicks.  I now know it was pre-labor but then I just thought it was the same old practice contractions.  I put James in the stroller and went for a walk to the park.  We were at the park for about an hour playing and watching the other kids play.  Every time I moved I would have really strong braxton hicks.  I almost called Titus to tell him that I thought maybe I was in labor.  But again I told myself, “Nah, it’s just braxton hicks.  No need to get Titus excited.”  I was ONLY 9 days past the due date at this point. ha ha  James and I walked home and I had to grip the stroller handle bars for support at times.  Still didn’t think I was in labor…..

That evening Titus built a wonderful fence around the front yard so James can play without going in the street.  It was an early birthday present!  And I love it!  At that point all pre-labor had stopped.  Of course as soon as I went to bed it started up again but I think I slept about an hour or so before they got really strong.  At 2:30 the contractions woke me up and I knew that this was labor.  I seem to be doomed to losing a night of sleep.  So unfair.  So I got up and sat on the exercise ball for awhile, did some reading, some timing, watched an episode of Reba.  James woke up at one point and I rocked him in the rocking chair for awhile then carried him to our bed.  Titus got up around 4 and I told him I was in labor.  We called the mid-wife around 6 and she didn’t laugh when Titus told her I had said I wanted to go to the hospital and get an epidural. 😀  Titus told me not to joke about that. (who’s joking????)  James woke up again and we got him back to sleep.  Then Sue came a little after 7 and I was happy to see her.  It’s kinda hard to know when to call the mid-wife since you don’t want to call them to early. She took the baby’s heart rate (124-132) and then we just waited.  My mom came to get James at 8.  I was kind of in a resting period with contractions and James was able to sit on my lap for awhile before he had to leave, which he wasn’t very happy about. Poor little guy.

Around 10 I had really bad back pain.  I think I could get through labor so much better if I didn’t have back pain.  Every time I would go from sitting to standing I would get horrible back pain.  I didn’t have that with James at all, so it was very surprising to me this time around.  Titus would rub my back with a vibrating back massager which did help a little bit.  As the contractions to closer and stronger I kept thinking to myself, “If my water would just break then I can start pushing!!”  But I do think I started pushing before my water broke, and that created a lot of pressure!  Once my water broke the contractions were so strong.  Way worse then with James!  I couldn’t believe how intense they were!!  I told Sue and Titus I thought I wanted to try a different position, but when they asked me how I wanted to be I couldn’t tell them.  All I wanted to do was lie down somewhere soft. Sue told me that I only had two more pushes and the baby would be there.  I didn’t believe her since when I was in labor with James that mid-wife had said, “Only one more push.” about a billion times.  But I held onto that hope of only two more.  And she was right!  Two more pushes and Gideon was here!  Titus says I only pushed for about 15 minutes.  My water broke at 10:45 and Gideon was born at 10:47!! The first thing I said was, “He’s so fat!” ha haImage

By 11:30 we were comfortably nursing on the couch.  God has so blessed our little family!  I love the fact that because I wasn’t going to a doctor I wasn’t induced and Gideon was born on his grandpa’s birthday.  What a blessing that could most likely have been missed.  Birthing at home is such a wonderful experience!  You are surrounded by your own stuff, and it’s just you, your hubby, and the midwife.  No bright lights, people you don’t know, and no IV’s! ha  ha (I’m not good with needles…)

I asked Titus how he would describe Gideon’s birth and he said, “Fast!” ha ha!

I’m just glad it’s all over. Being pregnant after already having a baby is totally different then the first time around.  You kinda know what you’ve gotten yourself into now and you really don’t want to do it again.

8 responses to “The birth story

  1. Beautiful story, Chantal. We love you and Titus and your precious little sweethearts sooo much.

    Love, Mom

  2. Thanks, Chantal! I enjoyed reading it!

  3. That last comment was from me – Mimi!

  4. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. You have to write it for people like me who have never gone through child birth. LOL! Thanks for sharing. Love you!

  5. I love this part: “watched an episode of Reba.” It’s the perfect example of how awesome home birth is in that you can do ANYTHING YOU WANT! And who doesn’t LOVE Reba?!?! Congrats on another cutie, Chantal! 🙂

  6. Pingback: My 100th post: How blogging has changed my life | Blissful in being called Wife and Mommy

  7. Pingback: Selah Rose birth story | Blissful in being called Wife and Mommy

  8. Pingback: Selah’s Birth Story – deep in bear country

Leave a Reply

